National Farmers' Federation

National Farmers' Federation Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the National Farmers’ Federation (NFF) was held in Canberra today.
Two Director positions were declared vacant by rotation. The resulting votes saw Cattle Council of Australia President, Tony Hegarty re-elected and WAFarmers Federation President, Tony York elected for the first time as an NFF Board member.
President Fiona Simson thanked outgoing director John Eastburn for his service.
“The work and accomplishments of organisations such as the NFF, are only possible through the the commitment of people like John.
“John’s wealth of governance and representative experience was highly valued by his fellow NFF Board members and the greater membership group.”
Ms Simson also recognised Mr Eastburn’s more than four decades of service to Grain Growers Limited, including 12 years as a Board Director and a number as Chair.
“John’s passion for agriculture is unrivaled. I know John will keep in touch with the NFF and I’m sure he’ll be a mentor to future NFF leaders,” Ms Simson said.
The 2019 NFF Board
President – Ms Fiona Simson
Vice President – Mr David Jochinke
Director – Ms Robyn Bryant, AgForce
Director – Mr Tony Hegarty, Cattle Council of Australia
Director – Mr Mark King, Dried Fruits Australia
Director – Mr Derek Schoen, NSW Farmers
Director – Mr Tony York, WAFarmers
Independent Director – Mr David Carr
Independent Director – Ms Andrea Koch
Members also voted on the positions of committee and taskforce chairs.
Ms Simson thanked outgoing Farming Systems Committee Chair Chris Groves and Telecommunications and Social Policy Chair Georgie Somerset for their contributions.
“Georgie and Chris have given a great deal of time and expertise to the NFF across two key portfolio areas.
“I wish them all the best in their new roles as AgForce Queensland Farmers President and Vice President of NSW Farmers, respectively.”
“I welcome new committee chairs Kylie Stretton and Melinee Leather.”
The 2019 NFF Committee and Taskforce Chairs:
Economic Policy & Farm Business Committee – Mr Wayne Dunford
Farming Systems Committee – Ms Melinee Leather
Sustainable Development Committee – Mr Angus Atkinson
Telecommunications & Social Policy Committee – Ms Kylie Stretton
Trade Committee – Ms Fiona Simson
Workforce Productivity Committee – Mr Charles Armstrong
Climate & Energy Taskforce – Mr Gerald Leach
Water Taskforce – Mr Les Gordon

Add comment