National Farmers' Federation

COP, Landcare & biosecurity on the agenda at NFF’s 36th Members Council Meeting

The thirty-sixth meeting of the National Farmers’ Federation Members Council and the 2021 NFF Annual General Meeting were held via video connection yesterday.

Little more than a week since the conclusion of negotiations at the Glasgow Climate Conference, delegates were provided with a comprehensive briefing on the process and outcomes of negotiations and the impact on agriculture, by representatives of the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources. Discussion centred on the role of methane in carbon targets and accounting as it pertains to livestock emissions.  

The meeting considered and endorsed an updated NFF position on the National Landcare Program in light of the Government’s development of Phase Two of the initiative. Landcare began formally in 1989 with a joint agreement between the National Farmers’ Federation and the Australian Conservation Foundation to improve the sustainability of farmland, public land and waterways.

The meeting affirmed NFF’s support for Landcare and its ethos of working together to achieve natural resource management goals with a focus on sustainable, productive agriculture.

Biosecurity continues to be a priority for the NFF and its members. The meeting formally agreed to increase advocacy pressure for a Government commitment to a long-term sustainable funding model for biosecurity.

The NFF’s Annual General Meeting was also held. Queensland beef producer and AgForce General President, Ms Georgie Somerset was elected as NFF Board Director. Western Australian grain producer Mr Tony York was elected for a further term.

President Fiona Simson thanked outgoing NSW beef producer, Mr Tony Hegarty, for his contribution to the NFF Board, who stepped down after five years of service. Ms Simson also recognised NSW rice grower Les Gordon for his 15 years as Water Committee Chair, which included a number of years as NFF Vice President.

The following people were elected as NFF Committee Chairs:

Angus Atkinson                     Climate & Sustainable Development Committee
Sue Middleton                     Economic Policy & Farm Business Committee
Chris Groves                          Farming Systems Committee
Peter Thompson                    Telecommunications & Social Policy Committee
Fiona Simson                         Trade Committee
Malcolm Holm                       Water Committee
Tony York                               Workforce Committee

*The NFF’s bi-annual Members Council meeting brings together state farming organisations and peak commodity councils to discuss the key issues facing the sector and to consider positions on policies of national application to agriculture.

Add comment